NO DULL MOMENT: Cast of ‘ex-officios’ complete as Antique councilors hold September 20 election

Philippine Councilors League ex officio members

Some insiders in the Philippine Councilors League (PCL) Antique chapter called it a “David versus Goliath” fight.

David turned out to be Councilor Julius Cezar Tajanlangit of Tobias Fornier town who won over townmate Councilor Orchid Fornier.

Orchid Fornier served as 3-term mayor and is allied with the incumbents Gov. Rhodora Cadiao and Rep. Loren Legarda. But capitol sources said Legarda and Cadiao “did not meddle” in the recent PCL election.

The PCL Antique election has completed the cast of league officials in the region. A chapter president serves as ex-officio member of the provincial board.

PCL Aklan on September 18 elected Teddy C. Tupas of Banga town as president. PCL Guimaras held elections on September 16 where Glicerio Edang of Sibunag town ran unopposed.

Iloilo councilors elected Ramon Sullano of Sta. Barbara town as president last Sept 11, while Councilor Ryan Gamboa of Silay City won as PCL Negros Occidental chapter president in elections held September 5.

In Capiz, as in Antique the protagonists came from the same town. Mitchell John Patricio beat Angela Joy Tupas as PCL Capiz chapter president in the September 9 elections held in Roxas City. Both are councilors of Pilar town. /jft

PHOTO: PCL Presidents Tajanlangit, Tupas, Edang, Patricio, Sullano, Gamboa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *