3 Doctor-mayors in Iloilo out by June 30

THREE DOCTOR-MAYORS IN ILOILO OUT BY JUNE 30: incumbents James Esmeralda, Ben Margarico, and Raul Banias lose bids for reelection.
Mayor Dr. Jaime Esmeralda of Igbaras lost by 117 votes to Juvic Escorpion in the May 9, 2022 elections. Escorpion, a lawyer won with 8,541 votes, while Dr. Esmeralda got 8,424 votes.

In Janiuay town, Mayor Dr. Ben Margarico lost with 14,877 votes against winner Paul Parian’s 17,882 votes. Iloilo 3rd district Rep. Lorenz Defensor openly endorsed Parian for mayor during the campaign period.

Mayor Dr. Raul Banias of Concepcion lost by 724 votes to challenger Vice Mayor Milliard Villanueva who won with 12,227 votes. Banias got 11,503 votes.

Esmeralda and Banias were comebacking mayors in 2019, both having graduated to their 3-term limits years earlier. Margarico won as vice mayor in 2019 but took over after Frankie Locsin failed to assume the mayorship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *